Teaching Perspectives Inventory

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 7.40.39 PM

I took the Teaching Perspectives Inventory. The instrument is meant to focus on a specific perspective when taking the test. For example, I took the assessment to see how I might understand my own teaching methods and style and how can I improve and as part of my Instructional Methods course.

When looking at my profile – it looked fairly flat. And according to the developers of the tool, this could be because I am new to instruction. I scored higher on the “Transmission” Section and not as high on the Social Reform. I feel that in my position as a librarian, it is my job to provide information and not necessarily provide social direction. So the fact that this perspective is more recessive seems appropriate. The Developer and the Nurturer is also slightly higher than the Social Reformer section.

I think that the validity of the test seems right to me.

Leave a comment